Election of New Chief Rabbis Considered Victory for Ultra-Orthodox Jews

Yitzhak Yosef and David Lau have been elected the two new Chief Rabbis of Israel. Rabbi Yosef is Sephardi, Lau an Ashkenazi, and both will serve a decade in office. They were elected 24 July by a special electoral body composed of 150 members. Since 2002, delegations of the Chief Rabbinate of Israel and the Holy See have met periodically to reflect on issues of ethical and religious interest.

» terrasanta.net
© 2011 Terra Sancta blog   |   privacy policy
custodia.org    proterrasancta.org    cmc-terrasanta.com    terrasanta.net    edizioniterrasanta.it    pellegrinaggi.custodia.org